Antonio Martinez

Searching for an Identity

Berlin: The Religious Resistance and the Dream of Europe, Op.4 No.2

Alternative title
Berlin: Der Religiöse Widerstand und der Traum von Europa
Antonio Martinez
Antonio Martinez
Classical / Symphonic music
Piano, Flute, Clarinet, Oboe, Horn, Trumpet, Violin, Viola, Double bass, Timpani
Scored for
Large ensemble (9 or more players), Big band, Chamber orchestra, Symphonic orchestra
Type of score
Full score
F sharp minor
Very difficult
Year of composition

The story is based primarily on Matthew 4:1-11. and Mikhai Bulgakov's "Master and Margarita."

The story goes as a young man begins riding in a gondola on the River Spree going towards Alexanderplatz when angels thrust the man from the gondola into Berlin's Olympiastadion. The young man is tested by a man in a checkered suit and a cat that can stand on its own two legs, characters that were a part of "Master and Margarita." The same methods that Satan tested Jesus Christ applies here, but the order is slightly different. Unlike the New Testament version, the command to turn stones into bread comes last. Instead the second test (the one commanding Jesus to throw himself down) comes first.

However, the revealing of all the kingdoms of the world has the most significance in this piece. Here there are no kingdoms, but rather the reward of beautiful nude women, powerful ancient and modern armies and artilleries and powerful structures of the world, most notably Ostankino Tower, Tashkent Tower, and Burj Khalifa rising from the floor. That follows St. John the Baptist and the ancient figure Pheidippides storming along the steps near the Olympic cauldron, to remind the man about the importance of not giving into temptation. That is when flocks of ravenous doves storm onto the women, artilleries and towers and lay siege.

The chaos angers the two figures so much that they give up and leave. Meanwhile, angels escort the man back to his gondola along the River Spree and carry on his road to redemption.

Among some of the melodies that were the basis for this piece include: Jacques Offenbach' Barcarolle from "Tales of Hoffman;" Johann Sebastian Bach's Badinerie from the Suite in B minor, as well as the Two-Part Invention No. 12 in A major and Sergei Kalinnikov's Nocturne in F-minor.

Upload date: 24 May 2011

2.99 USD

2.99 USD
Read license

2.99 USD
Read license

PDF, 2.28 Mb (58 p.)


Log in to post a comment