Antonio Martinez

Searching for an Identity

Belgrade: Ragtime for the Enlightening Soul, Op.2 No.36

Alternative title
Београд: Рагтиме за Просветљујућој Душе
Antonio Martinez
Antonio Martinez
Jazz / Ragtime
Scored for
Type of score
For a single performer
E flat major
Year of composition

This is the thirty-sixth destination in the collection of the series "Ragtime at the Red Light District." This piece is set at Belgrade's Picin Park.

The main character in this piece is a 28-year old sports journalist and graduate student that is studying abroad in Serbia. For nearly 10 days, this person became assimilated with the Serbian culture, including spending a week teaching the subject to freshman at the University of Belgrade. Aside from the classroom, this main character also managed to write op-ed articles about Serbia's soccer team form Sportski žurnal, while also writing articles at two key spots: Marakana Stadium and Partizan Stadium.

Over a seven-day span and much to the person's delights, both games did not have any major brouhahas. Following a game at Partizan Stadium, the main character decided to take a power walk in need to rewind. Then, while scratching the stomach, the main character remember keeping an article from Australia.

This article was date in 2009 and it featured Belgrade as the world's best place to party. So the main character decided to head to the best spot in town: Picin Park. There, mostly female patrons and workers kept the nightlife busy. The main character caught the eye of one woman in particular, but not because of looks. Instead, the main character saw this woman in a dream because this woman was a daughter of Eve who would help spare a town of destruction if she was to renounce sin. Surely enough, the woman approached the main character and happened to be a former prostitute who has turned away from sin and decided to reform her life. The main character was pleased to hear this, and the two decided to enjoy the nightlife without crossing any sinful boundaries.

This piece has a format of 4AABBA4CC4ADD. Christopher Walker's "Laudate, Laudate Dominum", David Haas' "You Are Mine" and the hymn "Lasst Uns Erfreuen" were the basis for this piece, as well as Johann Sebastian Bach's "Minuet in G Major No. 2" from Anna Magdalena's Notebook. Bach's influence is evident during the second eight-bar bridge.

Upload date: 13 Nov 2016

1.99 USD

1.99 USD
Read license

1.99 USD
Read license

PDF, 384.3 Kb (5 p.)


Log in to post a comment